top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDara

Biking??? ME???

Today’s orientation activity was a bike tour. No thank you. I cannot bike, I will not bike, I do not trust bikes. I really can’t explain my issue with them, all I know is they cause me an incredible amount of stress. But hey, I’m in Europe and down to try new things. This morning was freezing, so my roommate Andie and I wake up early, put on approximately 90 sweaters, and set out to the meeting spot. We learn today that in Spain it is not customary to ask to pet other people’s dogs which makes our walks pretty devastating (There are many good dogs here in Spain, I would definitely recommend). As a group, we walk to Jardins Maria Luisa, a beautiful park surrounding the Plaza de España. I’m all amped up, ready to use this bike with caution, but I physically cannot accomplish this. But, I give my friends a good laugh and that’s what I’m all about in the end. So, on foot, I ask my program director if I can instead walk the gardens. Luckily another girl, Rachel, can’t bike either, so we walk the garden and the plaza together. We take several obnoxious instagram photos and bond immediately. I think she may be an estranged sister, we have so much in common. After the gardens, the whole group goes to the program headquarters to learn about classes and the facilities. I receive a loan of 100 euros from CEA as all of my funds are currently with my pal Lance who is partying in Lisbon. I hope he’s having fun and the weight of his crime is weighing on his already crippled back. Anyway, Andie and I walk the long way home and get to see the Cathedral of Sevilla. I have to say, it is STUNNING. Rivaling the Duomo, it towers over the city with unmatched architecture. I am certain I’ll learn about it in my class “Architecture and Painting in Sevilla”. I get a drink and a muffin at Starbucks (or should I say, estarbucks) and we go home to have lunch with Clara. She makes spaghetti and it is fantastic. Then, she shows us her granddaughter’s parakeets which she keeps at her home. They are named after herself and Antonio and they kiss and hop around all day long. Que linda! We then discuss her family, how she loves to have students do homestay, and her love for art. Overall, a super endearing woman. Andie and I think we have won the lottery with Clara. Tonight, we plan to go out to a bar or club, but first, SIESTA.

Will report back about the nightlife. I’m very new to it.

Dara

El Fuente en la Plaza de España

85 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

I'm still here!

Hello blog readers! It has been a while since my last post. I was stricken with the stomach flu for an entire week which kept me out of class and consciousness for the majority of the time. Quick note

bottom of page