top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDara

I'm still here!

Hello blog readers! It has been a while since my last post. I was stricken with the stomach flu for an entire week which kept me out of class and consciousness for the majority of the time. Quick note about Spanish hospitals-- they’re not as dramatic as American hospitals. I arrived at about 11pm on a Monday night in tears and my attendant scolded me, asking why I didn’t come in earlier if I felt sick? I explained that in the US, you don’t go to the hospital unless you’re on the verge of death or losing a limb. She thought that was ridiculous, so it seems that the Spanish are more proactive on the whole “sick” thing. They gave me an IV and kept me in the hospital for a couple of hours and I cried the entire time. I don’t know why, but I could not. stop. crying. The doctors laughed at me and told me in Spanish to “stop crying! They’re going to think we’re hurting you!” Andie stayed in the waiting room the whole time and was a total trooper. Thanks Andie. The week that ensued was the worst of my life and my CEA school program did not make it any better. They told me that they cannot excuse my absences and as a result of the “personal decision to stay home”, I will receive grade deductions in my classes. So the next time I have the stomach flu and am physically incapable of standing, I’ll be SURE to make it to class anyway!!! Thank you so much for your insight, Victor, head of CEA.

On another (lighter) note, Andie and I have booked our trip to Paris for our birthday weekend---aka, the anticipated highlight of study abroad. We are staying in a beautiful hotel on the edge of Paris right near a metro station. Additionally, we are spending a day in Disneyland Paris which we are out of our MINDS about. They have a Ratatouille section. Seriously. I’m going to eat a churro with Remy, the star of Ratatouille. Or maybe a Mickey shaped baguette? Unsure of the fanfare provided at Disneyland Paris. We are also planning to buy ourselves a fancy birthday cake because: Paris. Duh. The week before Paris, my mom is CONFIRMED to come visit me for the week of Feria, a huge festival in Sevilla and one of my spring breaks. I am also beyond excited about this. April can't come soon enough. Hopefully, I’ll get around to some more traveling or at least completing a travel diary for Granada which seems like ages ago. Currently though, I am just enjoying Sevilla, the sporadic rain, and my health. Here’s to more weekends spent exploring Sevilla!

51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page