top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDara

Malaga Travel Diary

Hello all!!!

I haven’t updated in a little while, I’ve been getting used to school life. For the record, it’s pretty good. I’m in great classes with great professors, but the walk to class is 30 min... so it could be better. This past weekend, my roommate Andie and I traveled to Malaga because we heard of the beautiful weather and the Picasso museum. What we did NOT hear about, however, was that Carnaval was this weekend. Carnaval is essentially the celebration of being over the top. So, imagine Andie’s and my surprise when we took our first look around the town that night and walked right into a Drag show. First, we were drawn towards these little string lights we saw down an alley. When we approached, we realized this entire street was COVERED in a canopy of twinkling lights and confetti. People were dressed in elaborate costumes, and music was playing from one side of the walkway. We went towards the music to find a dance group performing (very well, I might add) and furthermore, the crowning of the top Drag Queens of Carnaval. It was the most ridiculous and happy accident that we picked this weekend to go to Malaga. The city is bursting with energy, a more modern arrangement than Sevilla. The architecture is all post-gothic (oh yeah, my architecture class is going GREAT) so it was a dramatic shift from the city we were used to.

We ate at a restaurant that night that was INSANELY good. It was all organic tapas; think LA meets Spain. Andie and I each ordered a mojito (best one yet) and proceeded to split 5 different tapas. We got everything from beet hummus to fried rice. It was definitely one of the top meal experiences in the city. If anyone is considering traveling to Malaga, the restaurant is called Astrid and we both highly recommend it.

That night, we stayed in a hostel. I was wary of it, but for only 12 euro a night, I was willing to give it a shot. Turns out, the hostel life is NOT for me. It’s very specifically catered towards people who enjoy being awoken every hour by screaming/slamming drawers/turning on lights/ and DELIBERATE stomping around. Seriously. I woke up at 4am, did research on hotels in the area and the next morning, booked a room and dragged Andie out of there with me.

Luckily, the new digs were PERFECT. Exactly what we needed. A shower and some quiet. We walked all around the mall area after checking in, Andie watching me go way over my budget for this week. Hey, I was in a “treat yourself” kind of mood. I slept 3 hours the night before and I make very poor financial decisions when I’m sleep deprived (thanks a lot, Feel Hostels). We caught a quick siesta and then wandered back into town to get a look at the ending festivities of Carnaval. The confetti was plentiful and the costumes were absurd. A dreamscape. We slept like babies in our non-hostel accomodation.

Our final morning, we had breakfast at a place called Brunchit. Definitely tied for favorite meal with Astrid. Please please PLEASE if you go to Malaga, check out Brunchit. You’ll thank me later. I had avocado toast with tomato and egg, Andie had toast with cheese, bacon and scrambled eggs. Included with our orders were also a garden salad, a shot of fresh orange juice, a jar of yogurt, fresh fruit, and cafe con leche. It was a beautifully designed restaurant and it took all of 2 minutes for me to finish eating. After this, we wandered back through town and caught glimpses of a parade, ending Carnaval. We were planning all weekend to go to the towering ferris wheel on the coast, but first: a milkshake. At la Bella Julieta, Andie and I split a Kinder Chocolate milkshake. Let me just say, my arteries feel clogged now, but my heart was full. Hopped up on milkshake energy, we took a few spins around La Princessa, the ferris wheel, and were able to see stunning aerial views of the city and the Mediterranean sea. It was beautiful weather, 70 degrees. We didn’t even need our coats and scarves! The rest of the day is a blur, but we popped into the Picasso museum at one point, and took our train home at 7:30pm.

All in all: a great weekend. A lot of good food, fun, and learning experiences. I seriously recommend Malaga for anyone wanting a convenient weekend travel plan. Let me know if you want any recommendations, I’m a pro now.


Love,

Dara


PS: if you want to see photos from my Malaga Adventure, go to the photos tab on the top left menu and hover over photos to see descriptions!



81 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I'm still here!

Hello blog readers! It has been a while since my last post. I was stricken with the stomach flu for an entire week which kept me out of class and consciousness for the majority of the time. Quick note

bottom of page